Which browsers support Server Name Indication (SNI)?

Last updated on 28 Sep 2023, 10:22:55.
Category: All about SSL certificates


What is SNI?

Server Name Indication is an extension of the TLS protocol that allows one to host multiple SSL certificates at the same IP address. Nowadays it is pretty common and implemented in most modern browsers, but older versions may lack SNI support! In-depth info on Server Name Indication internals to be found on the « What is Server Name Indication? » page.

Which browsers support SNI?

Desktop browsers

Internet Explorer 7 starting with Windows Vista (not XP!)

Google Chrome

  • 6+ on Windows XP and Vista
  • 5.0.342.1+ on Mac OS X 10.5.7+

Mozilla Firefox 2.0+

Safari 2.1+

  • on Windows Vista
  • on Mac OS X 10.5.6+

Opera 8.0+ (TLS protocol support must be enabled)

Mobile browsers

Android browser on Android 3.0+

Mobile Safari on iOS 4.0+

Windows Phone 7+

Opera Mobile 10.1+ on Android

Which browsers do not support SNI?

Desktop browsers

Internet Explorer, all versions, on Windows XP

Mobile browsers

Android browser on Android 1.x and 2.x

Related articles

Order an SSL certificate? What is an SSL certificate?

You need to order an SSL certificate? But what is an SSL certificate? And why is everyone saying that it...

Read more

SHA1, SHA2 and SHA256 SSL algorithms

SHA is a mathematical algorithm used in SSL encryption to verify the validity of the certificate's signature. Different iterations of...

Read more

Why do I see a yellow warning triangle on an HTTPS secured website?

The yellow warning triangle you may see when visiting a webpage that's secured with SSL, is an indication that Google...

Read more

Need extra help?

Were not all your questions answered?
Don't worry, we will be happy to help you via a support request!

Select your language

All languages: